Story

In 2013 Hans Könings asked and enthusiated nine appreciated artist friends, working in different media, about the participation in his concept and the production of an artists magazine – RUW!

RUW! is the combination of the word “raw”, as in the American magazine “RAW”, founded in the 80's by Art Spiegelman and Françoise Mouly and the German word “rau”, pronounced as the Dutch word “ruw”. Hans Könings: "... the magazine is primitiv and times are rough but great and I want to emphasize madness as the madness in Tales of Ordinary Madness by Charles Bukowski. RUW! sounds great, looks good and tastes like gasoline!"

Edition

Edition: 50 bound and numbered copies + two unbound copies for exhibitions
Size: approximately Din A4
Sale price of the latest issue: Euro 50 (without signature)
After the release of the next issue the prizes of formerly published issues are rising 50 Euros accordingly.
Each magazine-issue is presented in an exhibition with one additional work by the participants.

Further exhibitions of the RUW!-artists and presentations of the magazines:

"Prothesis", tête, project space, Berlin, 2016
"Sex sells", moving poets Novilla Project, Berlin, 2018
"Object-Magazines from the Archive Artist Publications",  kunsTTempel, Kassel, 2018
"Archiv Galerie: Archives in Residence — AAP Archiv", Haus der Kunst, Munich, 2018/2019
"Super Books", Haus der Kunst, Munich, 2019
"Flower power — a bouquet from Berlin to Shenzhen", TNT Contemporary, Shenzhen, China, 2019

Participating artists in one or several editions of the magazine:

Katharina Arndt, katharina-arndt.com
Hannah Becher, www.hannahbecher.de/server/index.html
Cécile Coiffard, www.cecile-coiffard.de
Gregor Cürten, www.gregorcuerten.com/index.php/de/
Mathias Deutsch, mathiasdeutsch.com
Linn Fischer, cargocollective.com/linnfischer
April Gertler, aprilgertler.com
Hannah Goldstein, www.hannahgoldstein.net
Thomas Hillig, www.hillig-architekten.de
Jakob Kirchheim, http://www.jakob-kirchheim.de/
Hans Könings, www.hanskonings.com/html/home.html
Petra Lottje, lottje.de
Paula Muhr, www.paulamuhr.de
Gero Neumeister
Kathrin Rank, www.kathrin-rank.de
Anja Schrey, www.anjaschrey.de
Eva Schwab, www.evaschwab.de
Poul R. Weile, prweile.dk
Marian Wijnvoord, http://www.marianwijnvoord.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RUWBerlin/

Additional shows: 48 hours Neukölln, Berlin, 2016, Banana Jam Space, Shenzhen, China, 2018

Additional show: all three up-to-date published issues at "Jakob Kirchheim and the artists magazine RUW!" at Neue Galerie Landshut, Bavaria, 2015